Hydrogen from Photoelectrochemical Water Splitting – What’s it gona’ take?

Monday, 25 May 2015: 17:00
Grand Ballroom and Lobby (Hilton Chicago)
J. A. Turner (National Renewable Energy Laboratory)
John A. Turner, Ph. D is a Research Fellow at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory. He started his career in electrochemistry at Idaho State University as an undergraduate working on sodium and potassium amalgam batteries. After receiving his B.S. degree in Chemistry he moved to Colorado State University and joined Bob and Janet Osteryoung’s group working on pulsed voltammetric techniques. He received his Ph.D. in Electroanalytical Chemistry and then moved to Caltech, joining Fred Anson’s group for his postdoctoral work. While at Caltech he worked with Heinz Gerischer on photoelectrochemistry before joining the Laboratory (then the Solar Energy Research Institute) in 1979.

     He then began to work on photoelectrochemical water splitting for hydrogen production. His research topics include the direct conversion (photoelectrolysis) systems for hydrogen production from sunlight and water, catalysts for the hydrogen and oxygen reactions, materials for advanced fuel cell membranes, and corrosion studies of fuel cell metal bipolar plates. Other work involves the study of electrode materials for high energy density lithium batteries and fundamental processes of charge transfer at semiconductor electrodes. He has twice received the Midwestern Research Institute President’s Award for Exceptional Performance in Research.

     In addition, he has received the Hydrogen Technical Advisory Panel award for Research Excellence, an Idaho State University Outstanding Achievement Award (2006), the Japanese Society of Coordination Chemistry Lectureship Award, and six Outstanding Mentor Awards from the US Department of Energy for his work with undergraduate students. He is the author or co-author of over 160 peer-reviewed publications in the areas of photoelectrochemistry, fuel cells, batteries, general electrochemistry and analytical chemistry. He is a Fellow of the Renewable and Sustainable Energy Institute, a joint institute between NREL and the University of Colorado, Boulder, and a 2012-2014 Sigma Xi Distinguished Lecturer. He is co-Editor of the Journal of Renewable and Sustainable Energy, an AIP journal.