Electrodeposition of Compositionally Modulated Nife Alloys in Porous Anodic Alumina

Tuesday, 30 May 2017
Grand Ballroom (Hilton New Orleans Riverside)
K. M. Ramsey, W. D. Sides, and Q. Huang (The University of Alabama)
Since the discovery of hexagonally self-ordered pore arrays in anodized of aluminum oxide (AAO)1, great strides have been made not only in understanding the mechanistic underpinnings of pore formation2-4 but also refinements to improve in the uniformity of arrays produced and enhance control over pore sizes5-8. Much interest in these arrays stems from their potential applications in microfabrication processes. AAO membranes have been used as templates in the production of nanowires through electrodeposition of metals, alloys, and nanostructured alloys9-13.

This paper presents a systematic study investigating the development of NiFe compositionally modulated nanowires for applications in biomedical devices. AAO membranes with different pore sizes were obtained with different electrolytes to fabricate nanowires with different diameters. Compositional modulation in NiFe alloy nanowires were created using double pulse scheme in electrodeposition. In addition, pulse schemes with different ramping schemes are used to create different compositional transitions between the modulations, which is characterized and verified using transition electron microscope with energy dispersive x-ray spectrometer. The anomalous interaction between Ni and Fe will be discussed in conjunction with the ramping pulse schemes and the ionic diffusion in the pores to explain the compositional profile along the wires.


1. H. Masuda and K. Fukuda, Science 268(1995).

2. O. Jessensky, F. Müller and U. Gösele, Journal of the Electrochemical Society 145(1998).

3. J. E. Houser and K. R. Hebert, Nature materials 8(2009).

4. Ö. Ö. Çapraz, P. Shrotriya, P. Skeldon, G. E. Thompson and K. R. Hebert, Electrochimica Acta 159(2015).

5. H. Masuda, K. Kanezawa and K. Nishio, Chemistry Letters(2002).

6. O. Jessensky, F. Müller and U. Gösele, Applied Physics Letters 72(1998).

7. S. Z. Chu, K. Wada, S. Inoue, M. Isogai and A. Yasumori, Advanced Materials 17(2005).

8. W. Lee, J. C. Kim and U. Gösele, Advanced Functional Materials 20(2010).

9. F. Yang, K. Liu, K. Hong, D. Reich, P. Searson and C. Chien, Science 284(1999).

10. J. Garcıa, A. Asenjo, J. Velazquez, D. Garcıa, M. Vázquez, P. Aranda and E. Ruiz-Hitzky, Journal of Applied Physics 85(1999).

11. W. Schwarzacher, O. Kasyutich, P. Evans, M. Darbyshire, G. Yi, V. Fedosyuk, F. Rousseaux, E. Cambril and D. Decanini, Journal of magnetism and magnetic materials 198(1999).

12. P. Evans, G. Yi and W. Schwarzacher, Applied Physics Letters 76(2000).

13. Q. Huang, D. Davis and E. Podlaha, Journal of Applied Electrochemistry 36 (2006).