C-31 Membrane Modeling and Properties

Thursday, 5 October 2017: 08:00-12:20
National Harbor 14 (Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center)
Adam Z. Weber and Stephen Paddison
(Invited) Quantifying Water Distribution and Connectivity in Ionomers: Comparison of Hydrated Nafion and Nafion/Polybenzimidazole Systems
H. Liu (University of Tennessee, Knoxville), S. Cavaliere, D. J. Jones, J. Rozière (CNRS - ICGM - AIME - University of Montpellier), and S. J. Paddison (University of Tennessee)
A Thermo-Poro-Viscoelastic Model for the Behavior of Polymeric Porous Separators (Cancelled)
Exploring the Dichotomy of Ionomer and Membrane Properties
A. Kusoglu, P. J. Dudenas, M. Tesfaye, and A. Z. Weber (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
What Nano-Confined Ionomers Can Tell Us about Fuel Cell Performance
M. Tesfaye, A. Kusoglu (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), B. D. McCloskey (University of California, Berkeley), and A. Z. Weber (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
PEFC17 Poster Award (Section D room)
Nano- and Mesoscale Ion and Water Transport in Perfluorosulfonic-Acid Membranes
A. R. Crothers (University of California, Berkeley, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), C. J. Radke (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley), and A. Z. Weber (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
States of Water in Thermally Annealed Recast Nafion® Films and Impact on Fuel Cell Performance
X. Ren (U. S. Army Research Laboratory), E. A. Gobrogge (U.S. Army Research Laboratory), and F. Beyer (Army Research Laboratory)
Voltammetric and Spectroscopic Analyses of the Effect of Ionomer on Oxygen Reduction Reaction on Pt Surface and Strategy for Developing Desirable Ionomers
K. Kodama (Toyota Central R&D Labs., Inc.), K. Motobayashi, M. Osawa (Institute for Catalysis, Hokkaido University), R. Jinnouchi, A. Shinohara, T. Takeshita, and Y. Morimoto (Toyota Central R&D Labs., Inc.)
The Effect of Membrane Casting Irregularities on Initial Fuel Cell Performance
A. Phillips, J. Mackay (National Renewable Energy Laboratory), N. Shrivastava (Georgia Institute of Technology), J. M. Porter (Colorado School of Mines), T. Harris (Georgia Institute of Technology), M. Ulsh, and G. Bender (National Renewable Energy Laboratory)